I am running a marathon in 6 days.

That’s basically what’s been going through my head the last week. I am running a marathon in __ days. And the number keeps getting smaller. It’s so scary and so exciting at the same time.

20131111-084419.jpg

I’m trying hard to relax and not “do” too much this week, but that’s hard as a full-time student. I think one of the hardest things about being in college is that there’s the possibility of getting sucked into the workday that never ends. I rarely have days where I can come home and just be there. There’s always class, lab/study group meetings, club meetings, homework, obligations. Not to mention food and sleep. But I’m trying.

The “obligations” aren’t all drudgery, though. Today I’m getting a sports massage. Tomorrow I get to go with my food journalism class (best class ever) to talk to the owner and chef of a fancy restaurant, and then go see Ina Garten (the Barefoot Contessa!) speak. Wednesday I get to talk to the owner of an awesome coffee shop that just opened on campus, and Thursday I get to go teach health for the first time in a West Philly elementary school. And then Friday is the marathon expo! Busy but fun week ahead.

I’m planning to take most days off this week… maybe 2 short, easy runs and one workout of 3 x 1 miles at marathon goal pace (~8:12 min/mile).

Last year I attempted a sort of carb depletion/reload the week before the marathon, and even though I did well at the race and didn’t bonk, I really disliked the way I felt in that week. I don’t want to change up my eating habits this time, but I will make an effort to include more carbohydrates (probably in the form of oatmeal instead of eggs for breakfast). I know what works for me, which is really the most important thing.

Can’t wait to cross this finish line again.

Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 8.39.31 AM

6 thoughts on “I am running a marathon in 6 days.

  1. I’ll be running Philly as well. Though I’ve done several marathons before, I’m oddly nervous for this one. Probably because I want to run this one fast, which always gets the butterflies going.

    Good luck!

    • Oh, awesome! The weather for this weekend is looking great :D And that’s the same for me! People keep asking why I’m nervous because I’ve done a marathon before… but I’ve never really tried to “race” one.

      Good luck to you too! :)

Leave a comment; I love reading them!

