Bye bye stress fracture!

The good news: my doctor gave me the clear to start back running the week after next!

Admittedly the plan is to alternate running and walking for the first three weeks, but I can do that! Assuming I have no further pain, I should be able to do the 5K for Clean Air and Broad Street 10-miler. Very slowly of course, and Broad Street will probably have some walk breaks, but still, I’m excited :)

The next few weeks will be pretty running-involved anyway between hosting a club track meet, volunteering at a half marathon, volunteering at the Penn Relays, and going to club track nationals! I won’t be running at nationals, but one of my teammates suggested I try shot-put. I’m sure that would be hilarious because I’ve never seen anyone my size doing shot-put before.

What I’ve been doing while not running: a lot of biking and some swimming (and sleeping in past 6:35am).  I’m happy to say I’ve gotten better at each, but I miss running, especially with my running club friends. I can’t wait to be out there with them again.

I also had spring break two weeks ago – my friends and I traveled to New York and Boston. It was a good distraction, and although lugging around a cast wasn’t the most fun, it was more than worth it.

statueofliberty

From the Staten Island ferry at sunset

IMG_6234

From the top of Rockefeller Center

IMG_6255

We didn’t exactly take a typical “spring” break

While I’m very grateful that this injury didn’t put me out for very long, I’m still a bit sad I wasn’t able to realize the half marathon PR I know I’m capable of. However, like I said in my last post, the PRs in the marathon, 5K, and mile are enough to satisfy me for now :) Here’s to coming back stronger than ever.

IMG_6293

And better weather… spring, please stay for good!

2 thoughts on “Bye bye stress fracture!

  1. I love how positive you are about the whole thing. Glad you’ve been biking, swimming, and getting some extra rest- and you can’t beat travelling. I’m glad you still get to travel with the team and support them too.

  2. I’m so glad to hear you will be back to running soon!! I’m not going to nationals because I’m really out of shape since I was hurt most of the winter, but my roommate headed down this afternoon. :) Look for the Michigan runner with the mass of curly red hair haha.

    My friend Stephanie (who is also on MRun) had a stress fracture in her hip last winter, so she did shot put at nationals last year. She is tiny too. She actually got All American because there were only two other girls. xD Good luck!

Leave a comment; I love reading them!

