Broad Street 10 Miler 2014 Recap

I had one goal going into this race: finish.

The past few weeks have been difficult. I finally got through my run/walk schedule to the point I could work back into running consistently, but around that time, I started getting a really weird pain in my hip/butt area. I think I may have overstretched it during a free hot yoga class I went to. I hadn’t been to a yoga class in awhile and was surprised at how flexible I was. Yeah… I don’t think I actually was that flexible. I went on two runs of around 4 miles each this past week, and both times my hip/butt started feeling tight about 15-20 minutes in. I was terrified I’d DNF Broad Street and was prepared to run it as slowly as I needed as long as I could finish.

20140504-161503.jpg

Happy to be rocking the Penn singlet again. With Shalane Flanagan’s autograph for luck!

My friends and I met up at 6:45 to take the subway to the start line (free for Broad Street runners!). We got there just before 7:30 without any hassle (unlike last year, when we were packed like sardines onto the train). We used the potties, gear-checked, etc. Then the yearly fun of getting into our start corral. Three things I learned about Broad Street last year that I was trying to avoid:

  • Huge crowds on Septa (avoided, success!)
  • The schoolyard where all the port-a-potties are located only has one entrance/exit and there’s a bottleneck effect as people try to get in and out simultaneously (avoided, success!)
  • The start line is chaotic and if you’re not there early enough you may not be able to get into your corral (avoided, success!)

One of my friends and I lined up on the border between the purple/orange corrals (I was purple – I predicted my time as something like 1:13 before I got a stress fracture). We didn’t have too long to wait before the race started.

Miles 1-4 (8:41, 8:55, 9:45, 8:15): High-fived Mayor Nutter! A must do at any Philly race (especially if you have photographic evidence of you ignoring him at the end of your first marathon).

My friend and I split up right after the start. I listened to music and tried to pay attention to how the pace felt. During mile 1, I kept it really easy but was surprised at how good I felt. For a minute or so I entertained the idea of running the whole 10 miles before chiding myself – you haven’t run more than 4 miles since February, don’t you dare.

At the end of mile 2, my left hip started to tighten up and my right foot started getting pins and needles. Uh-oh. I started walking once I hit 20 minutes and walked from 20-23 minutes, stopping for a bit to retie my shoe. I was the only person walking this early on and I had to keep reminding myself that it was okay to walk – I was just trying to get through the day without injuring myself.

I noticed my hip actually hurt more walking than running (I think taking smaller steps eased the pain?) so I started running again. I took my headphones out around this point because I wanted to hear the Temple band. Plus the crowds were thickening as we got closer to City Hall (about the midway point), and I just fed off their energy.

Miles 5-6 (8:09, 8:17): I was eagerly looking for my friends at this point. I knew a few people were coming to watch, and I figured this was probably where they’d be. I kept an eye out for them and kept running – I figured if I started walking, I’d probably find them immediately ;) I told myself I would run until I got to South Street and then take another walk break.

Miles 7-10 (8:31, 8:56, 7:33, 7:30): I never did find my friends, but I felt really good and figured I would just run until the end unless I started hurting. I walked through the water stops and left it at that. I’d been running by feel the whole race (with the intent on having it feel very easy) so I still felt really good and decided I’d pick it up for the last 2 miles. It was fun finishing the race with a lot of energy because the course was lined with people inside the Navy Yard and I was passing lots of other runners. I couldn’t believe when I finished and saw 1:24:46 on my watch!

20140504-161540.jpg

My “best case scenario” for the day had been finishing under 1:30, so I was pretty thrilled. My time last year was 1:17:xx, but I remember being completely wiped out after that. Official time 1:24:43 (8:28 min/mile pace) with a serious negative split (9:08 at the 3 mile split, 8:44 at the 5 mile split, 8:40 at the 7 mile split, 8:28 at the finish) and feeling good throughout, just three weeks back from injury, is fine by me :)

All of my friends had really good races. Brunch afterwards at a place back on campus, and the rest of the day devoted to studying! There’s a calc 4 final calling my name tomorrow.

8 thoughts on “Broad Street 10 Miler 2014 Recap

  1. I’m glad you made your A goal of under 130 and your negative splits were awesome, glad you felt good toward the end miles even though you hadn’t been running much. Isn’t it crazy how you can get hurt or injured in a cross training activity and then can’t run? I hurt my back in a BodyPump once, yikes! Good luck with your calc final!!

    • Thanks Amy :D and I agree, it’s so frustrating too because I thought I’d be helping myself, not hurting. Hurting your back sounds worse though – definitely not something you could ignore while running! And thanks for the good luck – it must have helped, because I did really well! :)

  2. Congrats on your race!! Your time is incredible. I can only dream of running sub-1:25, and you did it right after an injury!

    Also, this is hilarious — I just started following your blog a few days ago bc of your Broad Street recap from last year, but we met in person today. I recognize your watch in the picture above hahah. You were the purple watch/purple outfit girl with the blue watch/blue outfit guy on septa, and then Ashleigh introduced me to you guys at the finish :) nice to meet you again

    • Oh my gosh!! Small world! That’s crazy, I’m glad we got to meet in real life! Haha. Nice to meet you again as well.

      And thank you! I really enjoyed reading your recap :)

  3. I would be SO HAPPY to pull off something like this at my half marathon in three weeks. I’m in a similar boat with recently coming off injury. Also, I think you probably did overstretch at yoga, because I definitely overstretched showing off my splits a month or so ago which led to a really tight hip that gradually got worse and more painful until I took a week off everything a couple weeks ago. I really hope that doesn’t happen to you!!

    • It’s definitely possible for your half!! I wish you the best of luck, and I look forward to reading about it :) Also, I hope that doesn’t happen to me, also :o I think the pain has gotten a little better since this race, but I can’t really tell because I’m sore alll over so the total body soreness may be masking the pain.

Leave a comment; I love reading them!

